Sponsored by: Hernstadt

CITY OF MARATHON, FLORIDA RESOLUTION 2012-113

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MARATHON, FLORIDA, AMENDING RESOLUTION NO. 2008-123 CONCERNING THE COMPOSITION OF THE CITIZENS ADVISORY TASK FORCE; APPOINTING MEMBERS TO THE CITIZEN ADVISORY TASK FORCE; SOLICITING NEW MEMBER APPOINTMENTS BY COUNCIL; AND PROVIDING FOR AN EFFECTIVE DATE

WHEREAS, in 2001, the City of Marathon (the "City") adopted a resolution appointing a Citizens Advisory Task Force to encourage resident participation in the development of plans, procedures, public hearings, and oversight of the City's Community Development Block Grant activities; and

WHEREAS, this Task Force lapsed in 2005 and on September 23, 2008, by Resolution No. 2008-123, the Community Development Block Grants Citizens Advisory Task Force was re-created; and

WHEREAS, the Florida Administrative Code contains criteria and guidelines for the administration of Community Development Block Grants by local governments; including Rule, 73C-23.0041, F.A.C. concerning the composition of a Citizens Advisory Task Force ("CATF"), which states that a CATF may be comprised of at least three residents of the jurisdiction, none of which shall be elected officials and no more than one employee of the local government; and

WHEREAS, The City desires to amend the criteria for membership on the City's CATF to mirror Rule, 73C-23.0041, F.A.C.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MARATHON, FLORIDA, that:

- **Section 1**. The above recitals are true and correct and incorporated herein.
- Section 2. Section 3 of Resolution 2008-123 is amended to read as follows:

The CDBG Citizens Advisory Task Force shall consist of five (5) members. All members shall be residents of the City of Marathon. None shall be elected officials, and no more than one (1) shall be an employee of the City. Each member of the City Council shall appoint one (1) member to the CDBG Citizens Advisory Task Force. Members shall serve at the pleasure of the City Council with a maximum term of four (4) years. Each appointee may be reappointed to the CDBG Citizens Advisory Task Force.

Section 3. The City Council hereby appoints the following individual residents of the

City to serve as a member of the CDBG Citizens Advisory Task Force:

Appointing Councilmember

Appointment Name/Address

Mayor Worthington

Lynda Berrigan 2121 Avenue H

Marathon, FL 33050

Vice Mayor Ramsay

John Bartus

1003 W. 75th Street Marathon, FL 33050

Councilmember Cinque

Karen Dennis

2138 Harbor Drive Marathon, FL 33050

Councilmember Keating

Ms. Donna Lookadoo 800 50th Street Gulf Marathon, FL 33050

Councilmember Snead

Ms. Sharron Bauer

510 28th Street Ocean Marathon FL 33050-1833

Section 4. This resolution shall take effect immediately upon its adoption.

PASSED AND APPROVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MARATHON, FLORIDA, THIS 25^{th} DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2012.

THE CITY OF MARATHON, FLORIDA

ete Worthington Mayor

AYES:

Cinque, Keating, Ramsay, Snead, Worthington

NOES:

None

ABSENT:

None

ABSTAIN:

None

ATTEST:

Diane Clavier, City Clerk

(City Seal)

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY FOR THE USE AND RELIANCE OF THE CITY OF MARATHON, FLORIDA ONLY:

City Attorney